The Alberta Conference of the Seventh-day Adventist Church 51st Session

Alberta Seventh-day Adventist Conference 51st Session Book

Program and Agenda - October 2, 2016
College Heights Seventh-day Adventist Church

7:30 a.m.    Nominating Committee Members Meet

    8:30 a.m.     Registration

    9:00 a.m.     Devotion

    9:30 a.m.    Introductions and Recognitions

    9:45 a.m.    Session Preliminaries
                Call to Order 
                Reading of the Legal Notice
                Seating of Delegates
                Selection of Parliamentarian

    10:00 a.m.    Agenda
                Approval of Agenda
                Acceptance of Newly Organized Churches
                Approval of 2012 Minutes
                Nominating Committee Report
                     Secretary/VP for Administration
                     Treasurer/VP of Finance
                     Executive Committee
                     Bylaws Committee
                Bylaws Committee Report
                President and Progress Report
                Financial Report
                Foothills Camp Presentation


NOTE: Lunch served at 12:30 pm at the Burman University gym.


Alberta Conference Constituents Elect a New President and Secretary/VP for Administration

Alberta Seventh-day Adventist Conference delegates gathered on October 2 at the College Heights Seventh-day Adventist Church in Lacombe, Alberta to conduct their quadrennial constituency session. Along with numerous reports received and bylaws changes, Alberta Conference delegates elected Gary Hodder as president, Wayne Williams as secretary/vice president for administration and re-elected Keith Richter as treasurer. 

Hodder (currently executive secretary for the Ontario Conference) replaces Ken Wiebe, whose retirement became effective at the end of the session and Williams (currently a pastor in the Ontario Conference) replaces Larry Hall whose retirement also became effective at the end of the session. Richter has been with the Alberta Conference since 2006, serving as treasurer since 2011.
Dan Jackson, North American Division president, started the day off by sharing a powerful message about Jonah. “God is in the people-changing business,” stated Jackson.
Delegates approved the following two major bylaws changes:
  • Voted to implement a quinquennial (every 5 years) session in alignment with other Canadian conferences and the Seventh-day Adventist Church in Canada (SDACC).
  • Voted that departmental directors and associate directors be evaluated by EXCOM within a year after each regular quinquennial session.
Ken Wiebe gave some encouraging closing remarks before SDACC executive secretary, Daniel Stojanovic, dismissed the delegates with prayer.
The day’s proceedings were posted live to Alberta Conference social media feeds such as Facebook and Twitter. Further comments or questions about the session can be directed to Keith Richter, treasurer.

Gary Hodder voted as new president for the Alberta Seventh-day Adventist Conference.

Wayne Williams voted as new executive secretary for the Alberta Seventh-day Adventist Conference

Keith Richter re-elected as treasurer for the Alberta Seventh-day Adventist Conference.